Race Review: Owler 70.3

The race may of been a month ago now, but I guess this has given me a chance to reflect on what went well and what not so well in my first middle distance triathlon and the achievement of completing one, also a good alternative excuse for being incredibly busy at work and hone the past few weeks that I’ve not had time to sit down and write a blog.

Route map. Good idea to plan ahead and scout out where the hills are hiding

Route map. Good idea to plan ahead and scout out where the hills are hiding


Pre-race

Unlike the vast majority of middle distance triathlons, this one didn’t start at some unholy hour in the morning, but at 9:30. This is the perfect time so I can carry out my normal morning routine which helped to keep me and calm and not stressed. Plus allows time for a decent bowel of porridge with banana, fruit and nuts and the all important cup of coffee to kick things up a gear. Fortunately the parents were providing the life to Ashford so they were acting as supporting crew and #1 fans which came important later on in the day.

WP_20140803_001

The Julie Rose Stadium made a brilliant venue for the event.

at arrival it would of been easy to be daunted by the sight of TT bikes alone compared to my reliable stallion costing a fraction of the price and like costs as much of one of their wheels, but as I always say and realising more, a bike does not define the rider nor give any indication of their ability of a rider. So after a speedy registration picking the important race info, transition bags, and race numbers.

After organising my T1 and T2 bags (well prepared the night before in Sainsbury’s bag, no expense spared here) and racking the bike up in T1, which I got wrong and had to dash back to move my bike to the correct position a bit later on! First lesson; rack bike in the correct place!!!

Race time – the swim

IMG_4866

All smiles for the start. Tan lines are cool.

After donning the wetsuit and feeling the part, as well as a bit of a ninja, it was time to get in the water. At 21.5C it was only just wetsuit legal and made no sudden shocks when getting in and pulling the neck of the suit down to let the water in to acclimatise to the water temperature. As it was my first mass open water start swim, thought I’d take things safe and start more towards the back as not to be scared whitless in the ensuing melee. Wise move. After a 5 min warm up swimming, another wise move compared to others who got in and just waited, it was time for the claxon!!!!!

With number 1 fan for the day

With number 1 fan for the day

 

WERE OFFF!!!!

IMG_4876

Nice welcome swim to the world of mass start swims

sticking to my race plan for the swim of nice n steady pace and racing more within myself here realising there is still the cycle and run to go, I got into a nice rhythm and by the time I reached the first buoy I had already passed a few people, the 2nd even more and the 3rd even more!

The swim was going well and manages to keep calm in a few hairy moments with people grabbing my, when they did I just kicked a bit harder. After the 3rd buoy I kept in pace with another racer, although not sure if this was wise as it felt a slower rhythm but I decided to keep with it. Should of probly tried to find a slightly faster swimmer and draft him but don’t wanna be chaning plans midrace! Approaching the swim exit, my swim nemesis kicked in… Feet cramp! After misjudging the how deep the water still was and the exit man helping swimmers out I think the over stretching was a hello sign for cramp in both feet… Not fun! After a slightly messy doggy paddle and something resembling swimming after I was out in a time of 38:16. Faster than my predicted time  and in 55 position!

Still all smiles on the way out even after getting cramp on exiting!

Still all smiles on the way out even after getting cramp on exiting!

Caption contest.....

Caption contest…..

T1

a short 200m dash from the lake to the athletics stadium were at T1. Collecting bags was made simple with them all lined up in order with helpers dishing them out. Suit off. Feet dry(ish). Socks on. Race belt and gels on. 50m dash to bike were all the essentials are put on, helmet, shoes (not a fan of cycling then putting shoes on, one day I will be). And were off 2 mins 30s later. And now in 49th place.

The bike…. 

All started well meandering along a few country roads making our way to the more long and straight roads. Bit of a clanger on the first gentle slope upwards with my chain slipping off and getting wedged inbetween the frame and bottom bracket/chain ring. What seemed an age, most likely a few wasted minutes and were back off.

Owler cycle

 

The cycle was quick. Very quick. It was a nice route heading out into the Kent Downs to do 2 loops there and then head back towards the stadium for the start of the run. There was a few gentle hills up but nothing uncomfortable, and then its straight back down hill. Without aerobars I tried to get as aero as possible by resting my forearms on the handlebars, but this lead to a bit of a sore back later on and some lovely bruises the following day.

A friend who lives in Ashford with his girlfriend also turned out along the bike route to cheer me on. Fantastic effort Mat! just seeing friendly faces shouting your name does wonders to boost you on! (the almost crashing was all part of it…)

My support crew picked a brilliant place to spur me on at a roundabout which I passed 3 times so got plenty of encouragement, especially on the final trip where I had just taken a gel and was waiting for it to take affect, so the excitment from seeing them got me going until it kicked in. Even better, they then jumped in their car to drive alongside me (road was clear!) to cheer me on. Epic!

Overal, completed the 56 miles in 2 hrs 58 mins in average speed on 19 mph. Thats a top speed record for me!

Get your run on!

The run was a nice flat route from the stadium to a outside shopping centre and back before going back out for lap 2. This was with a twist though.. you get to run through the shopping centre during trading hours! The first lap out was ok, took a bit of time getting rid of those jelly legs, and I regretted drinking as much isotonic so close to the end of the cycle, and kept with the game plan of skipping food stops so my stomach doesn’t go mental with food and sugar and only grabbing water and some isotonic to have a few sips while on the go.

Getting to the shopping centre was incredible. Race volunteers cheering you through, competitors families cheering you on, staff cheering you on and shoppers looking bewildered but amazed, surprised and excited to see an event go past them. the weight from the legs disappeared and the world of pain is forgotten as you pick up the pace and keep on going.

IMG_4884

Incredible atmosphere running through a crowded shopping centre

Support crew/Number 1 supports mum and dad did an incredible job cheering me on as I went by on both laps hearing them hollaring all down the centre.

First lap down in 48 mins, slightly slower than planned as I paced by how I felt rather than the watch, but maybe if I changed the screen on the watch to pace then I might of gone a bit quicker…  but then again that may of risked a blow out at some point and left me crawling?!?!

2nd lap was ok, and feeling good I kept up the game plan on sipping on drinks while passing pit stops but not eating. I got confidence from feeling strong(ish!) while others were cramping and slowing. All helps mentally knowing that I’m stronger than the next person.

Last 50 metres, sprint finish with all that's left

Last 50 metres, sprint finish with all that’s left (and how fancy is the red bike!!)

On returning to the stadium, the crowds were in good spirits as all were clapping and cheering you on to the end and words of encouragement from the parentals its the last 400m around the track. Time to dig deep and forget the aching limbs and think of that satisfaction past that finish line…

Owler finish 1

Almost there….

Owler finish 2

DONE.

Finished!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 hrs 20 mins 8 seconds. I’ll have that.

WP_20140803_016

 

I can only say it was a fantastic day, and the satisfaction after was immense. And celebrating it with my parents, Matt and his girlfriend made it all the more special. The whole day was well organised, volunteers at the pit stops brilliant and all deserve a high five. so thank you!

WP_20140803_003

Now, time for the Outlaw half in 2015!!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment